On human rights, the United States must be a beacon. America is strongest when our policies and actions match our values.More
Home / Take Action

Stop idling--don’t give Bahrain the Grand Prix

Bahrain Athletes

The crackdown in Bahrain shows no sign of relenting. More than 800 people have been detained and four have already died in police custody.

Formula 1 auto racing is one of the most-watched sporting events in the world, with over half a billion viewers last year. This year's spring season was set to open with the Bahrain Grand Prix, but the crackdown caused F1 to postpone its 2011 race. F1 needs to send the right message to the Bahraini regime—that the world does not stand with repressive governments.

Authorities will decide tomorrow, June 3, whether to grant Bahrain a delayed 2011 race. Continuing attacks on peaceful protesters show Bahrain is incapable of hosting a major international sporting event and should not be rewarded for abusing human rights. Granting the Grand Prix to a repressive regime will disappoint F1 fans everywhere. It should not turn a blind eye to torture, disappearances, and deaths of peaceful protesters.

Sign the petition and send a message to CEO Bernie Ecclestone. Tell him to set Formula 1 on the right track by canceling the Bahrain Grand Prix.

2876-2900 of 4921 signatures
Number Date Name Organization Location
2046 7.4 years ago Jillian Paragg Edmonton, AB
2045 7.4 years ago Brad Donahue Los Angeles, CA
2044 7.4 years ago Samira Turk Austin, TX
2043 7.4 years ago Barbara Campbell Vidor, TX
2042 7.4 years ago Lynne armstrong Seattle, WA
2041 7.4 years ago Bruce Eggum Doing Government Gresham, WI
2040 7.4 years ago Robb Mottl Salt Lake, UT
2039 7.4 years ago Rudy Hazucha Sleepy Hollow, IL
2038 7.4 years ago Michael Myers Hamilton, NJ
2037 7.4 years ago Diana Cho Tracy, CA
2036 7.4 years ago salmaan ozeer ot
2035 7.4 years ago Patricia Sloan Butler, PA
2034 7.4 years ago Michael O'Neill Individual Tacoma, WA
2033 7.4 years ago Joseph Abelon Lynn, MA
2032 7.4 years ago Felice Sage Littleton, CO
2031 7.4 years ago David Bohn Wahiawa, HI
2030 7.4 years ago dave cunningham Fremont, CA
2029 7.4 years ago Cheryl Gleich Spicewood, TX
2028 7.4 years ago Evan Fulmer Merrim ack, NH
2027 7.4 years ago Gloria Morrison Pecos, TX
2026 7.4 years ago Libbe Madsen Laytonville, CA
2025 7.4 years ago Kenneth Nahigian Sacramento, CA
2024 7.4 years ago Pedro Salgado Gulfport, FL
2023 7.4 years ago Thomas Gardner Ames, IA
2022 7.4 years ago Daniel Stover BC
Next ->