On human rights, the United States must be a beacon. America is strongest when our policies and actions match our values.More
Home / Profile

Tell King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa - Kansas City, U.S.A. wants its medal back!

Brutal Dictators Do Not Deserve Medals

The crackdown in Bahrain against democracy advocates continues. Hundreds of people have been detained, at least four have died in custody and there have been widespread reports of torture.

Bahrain's monarchy is headed by King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa and, according to his biography on the Bahrain's U.S. embassy website, he "was awarded the Freedom Medal of Kansas City, Missouri from the Mayor and people of Kansas City." Kansas City does not want to be associated with a repressive regime. We sent a letter to the Kansas City Mayor Sylvester James asking him to demand the Freedom Medal back from the Bahraini King. Add your name!

Ask Kansas City Mayor Sylvester James to make clear that Kansas City does not stand with the Bahraini King’s appalling human rights record by taking back his Freedom Medal!

4326-4350 of 6361 signatures
Number Date Name Location
2036 7.4 years ago joyce schwartz altamonte springs, FL
2035 7.4 years ago mark johnson New York, NY
2034 7.4 years ago mona dunn Madison, NY
2033 7.4 years ago jeff spakowski huntington woods, MI
2032 7.4 years ago Frances Markovic Polson, MT
2031 7.4 years ago Anonymous Bayside, NY
2030 7.4 years ago Frances Markovic Polson, MT
2029 7.4 years ago Sheryl Gillespie Denver, CO
2028 7.4 years ago Paul R Williams Washington, DC
2027 7.4 years ago Alison Kincaid Jacksonville, FL
2026 7.4 years ago Adam Jacobson Forest Hills, NY
2025 7.4 years ago Annie Laurie Laurie Dracut, MA
2024 7.4 years ago Alex Thorpe Olivette, MO
2023 7.4 years ago William Sharfman New York, NY
2022 7.4 years ago Rich Heany massapequa, NY
2021 7.4 years ago Michael Mills San Francisco, CA
2019 7.4 years ago Gordon Rowland Pacific Palms, ot
2018 7.4 years ago Roxanne Williams Clearwater, FL
2017 7.4 years ago Anonymous CT
2016 7.4 years ago Gordon Rowland Pacific Palms, ot
2015 7.4 years ago Mike Rowley Oxford, ot
2014 7.4 years ago Anonymous Wakefield, ot
2013 7.4 years ago Joan Roberts Winnipeg, MB
2012 7.4 years ago Phil Browne Teneriffe, ot
Next ->